Nakuru is the fourth-largest city in Kenya, the capital of Nakuru County and former capital of the Rift Valley Province.

Nakuru Town has 307,990 inhabitants , making it the largest urban centre in the Kenyan mid-west. Nakuru lies about 1,850 m above sea level. The history of Nakuru can perhaps be traced to the prehistoric period due to the archaeological discoveries located about 8 km from the Central Business District at the Hyrax Hill reserve.

Nakuru was established by the British as part of the White highlands during the colonial era and it has continued growing into a cosmopolitan city. It received township status in 1904 and became a municipality in 1952. The history of Kenya as a country is closely intertwined with that of Nakuru as a town and a district which is now a County.

Click on Information and About to read more about Nakuru.

Places in Nakuru

Find More  


Find More  


Find More  
Scroll Up
error: Content is protected !!